The City: Day 2

The highlight of day two in New York City was when Lisa and I went to the Strand Book Store. They have so many books that it is estimated to be about 18 miles long (if ever you decided to play the longest line game using books). I never had the pleasure of seeing that much books in the Philippines. Whenever I go to book shops near my house, they would always carry the same books. In Strand, however, I was able to see so many that I almost started hyperventilating. I didn’t want to leave! It was so overwhelming and beautiful. Signed and inscribed copies were being sold, rare books were found at the third floor, Moleskins were scattered all around the shop, and books I’ve wanted and never seen before suddenly appeared before my very eyes!

In the end, Lisa and I came out of the shop carrying 6 books, 1 watercolor moleskine notebook, and 1 tote bag. It is a bookworm’s heaven.

Here are some pictures.

After Strand, Lisa and I met Jed in Pio Pio for dinner. It’s a Peruvian restaurant, which kind of reminded Lisa of the movie Bridesmaids. Anyway, their chicken was undoubtedly delicious! It was so tasty! I would go back to that restaurant for the chicken.

(Credits to Gothamist.com for the chicken photo)

Each day is getting better and better!

– P

4 thoughts on “The City: Day 2

  1. The NYC is always Amazing! I noted you got books on the Philippines. Are you from there? I hate to be a bother but I’m going there for the first time in a few weeks and am looking for some heads up/insider info. You know the stuff you don’t find in guide books. We are stopping in Manila for a few days and then going to Boraki or something to that effect. Any cool stuff I should keep an eye out for? Thanks for the help. Lovely post. Cheers

    1. Thank you very much! 🙂 And yes, I am from the Philippines. It’s nice to know you’re visiting! In Manila, you’ll mostly find shopping malls. The best places for shopping is in Greenbelt, Rockwell, Mall of Asia and High Street in The Fort. And if you want bargain shopping, you could go to Greenhills Shopping Center. OH and Boracay! You’ll find beautiful beaches there. White sand and all! You should try the banana boat or the flying fish if you’re up for some water sports. Flying fish is my favorite! 🙂 You can do lots of things in Boracay! Island hopping is also a good idea. Boracay is really one of the best places in the Philippines. I hope you have fun! 🙂

      1. Thank you so much for the tips. I appreciate you going out of your way to give them. Please keep us up to date on your travels and I’ll send you an update from the Philippines. Cheers, all the best

A penny for your thoughts?

