The City: Day 3

For my third day in New York, Lisa and I went to the Chelsea Market. The market was a workplace a few years ago built to make biscuits and crackers (They made Oreos!), and, eventually, it was renovated to what it is now, a food concourse in Manhattan. We then went to the store, Anthropologie, and spent a good hour browsing around. They sell really cute (and pricey) things from dresses to books to furniture! After this, we treated ourselves to artisanal gelati from L’arte del Gelato. Lisa ordered the Mascarpone, while I ordered the Chocolate and they were just heavenly. Since it was a nice day out, we decided to bring our gelati with us to the High Line.

It was a nice sunny day for a stroll around the park. Only, the High Line isn’t your usual park. The High Line is a public park built on an historic freight rail line elevated above the streets on Manhattan’s West Side. It is amazing to see how it was once used for trains, but now is a garden with flowers blooming and birds chirping everywhere. The railroad tracks were preserved and could be seen as you walk throughout the park. Also, I couldn’t help but admire the modern architecture that surrounds the High Line park.

Here are some pictures.

After all this, Lisa and I met up with Jed in Shake Shack in Madison Square Park, where .  I was surprised by the number of people who lined up for this. It took us a while before we got to order, but when I tasted my first bite, I knew – I knew that the wait was all worth it. I don’t know what made it so good! Was it because of the secret sauce? The juicy meat? Or the fresh tomatoes? Whatever it was, I absolutely loved it. I ordered the shack burger, cheese fries, and a black and white shake.

I used to think that In-N-Out had the best burgers, but after trying out Shake Shack, I was convinced to think otherwise.

– P

A penny for your thoughts?

