Book Week

Let me start of by saying that I have left New York City and have returned to my dear country, the Philippines. It has been a week since I have arrived, and although my blog was quiet, a lot has happened.

For the past week, I’ve immersed myself into reading books, namely: Legend (By: Marie Lu), Before I Fall, Delirium, Pandemonium (All by: Lauren Oliver), Matched (By: Ally Condie), and The Fault in Our Stars (By: John Green). My summer is never complete without finishing a book or two, and it seems that I never had enough time when I was in New York. Who was I to ignore the restless city? NYC is all hustle and bustle, and I guess you could say that I am quite relieved now since I have the time to stop and relax. And what better way to relax than by grabbing light fun reads from the young adult section!

Legend (By: Marie Lu)

This story got me through the airport and the airplane ride on my way back to Manila. It is a fast paced dystopian story about two teenagers of completely opposite backgrounds. Day was the most wanted criminal while June was the government’s military prodigy. After the death of June’s brother, she sets out on a search to capture the prime suspect, Day. The two cross paths and lead a story that is bound to keep you breathless.

Before I Fall (By: Lauren Oliver)

I read this book when I arrived. You know the saying, “Live your life as if it’s your last?” Before I Fall is a story about this girl who relived her last day seven times. She explored her last days and realized things she never did. She stretched her limits, tried to evade death, and attempted to fix things. In the beginning, she was kind of a, excuse my language, bitch, if you ask me. This story was Lauren Oliver’s exciting debut, and it kept me captivated all throughout.

Delirium, Pandemonium (By: Lauren Oliver)

Delirium and Pandemonium are Lauren Oliver’s first two books in her dystopian trilogy. I finished the first book in a day, and the second in two days. I ate up the books, and I must say, I am ravenous for more. The story is set in the future, and when everyone turns 18 years old, everyone receives this operation wherein you are supposed to be cured of love. Love is a disease that triggers unexpected reactions. Reactions being suicide, blindness to reason or logic, heart diseases, and depression. In Delirium, Lena was about to turn 18, when suddenly, she fell in love.

I cannot wait for the next installment, Requiem. That cliffhanger in Pandemonium was just a slap on the face. I really don’t know what to expect next.

Matched (By: Ally Condie)

After reading the books above, I tried to find another dystopian novel in the young adult section and came across this one. And to be quite honest, I did not like it. It reminded me of Legend a little. And a lot of readers in Goodreads.com said that it was like The Giver (Another book I have yet to read). Basically it’s this story wherein the Officials choose who you’re going to marry, and the main character, Cassia, was matched with her best friend, Xander. Only, there was a slight error when she checked Xander’s microcard. Because Xander’s face disappeared, and another boy’s face was on it instead. I didn’t like the story mainly because I couldn’t fall in love with the couple. If I had to choose, close your eyes for an obvious spoiler, I would choose Xander, but that didn’t happen. The author may have tried to build the relationship, but I wasn’t buying it. I don’t think I’ll be getting the next book.

The Fault In Our Stars (By: John Green)

The Fault In Our Stars is the last book I read, and I’m glad I saved it for last because I’m really happy with it. I love John Green’s smart sarcastic remarks, and his brilliant taste of word choice, which I’m sure are good SAT words (who uses the word bacchanalia?). The story revolves around a 16 year old girl named Hazel whose life is terminal due to cancer. Hazel goes to a Support Group in one church and eventually meets a guy named Augustus Waters, a seventeen year old who’s an amputee. Hazel’s life takes an interesting turn as she finds herself falling in love with Augustus.

I hope you guys will have the chance to go through the books. I had a great time reading them (except for that one book).

Happy reading!

– P

A penny for your thoughts?

