Will You Go To Prom With Me?

Have you ever felt that you hadn’t done enough justice to a great story? Because I have. And, that’s why I’m rewriting this blog post from scratch. The understatement I wrote a day ago couldn’t express how much excitement and fear I felt during my pre-prom moments. As I was reading the now-deleted-post, I felt as if a robot Patsy wrote it–I relayed the events, I even said I was surprised at the right times, but I didn’t truly capture how I really felt.

So, this is my take two. I hope that by the end of this post, you’ll be able to feel how I felt during those grand and not-so-grand moments.

“Will you go to prom with me?”

That’s how it always starts. You know prom is right around the corner when the first guy asks this question. During my high school years, I have to admit that I was afraid. I was scared that nobody would ask me to be his date, that I wouldn’t experience being asked out to prom–something that I really really wanted. My sister, Lisa, was asked out to prom in a very grand way, and ever since that happened, my school practically turned it into a tradition to make prom-asking a big deal. And as a girl who never received grand gestures from anyone, I was really anxious for Junior year to arrive because I was almost sure I would go to prom without a date.

All of that changed when I met Jared. Jared and I became classmates in our sophomore year of high school. He and I turned into great friends, and after going through investigatory projects, LSYC (Lasallian Youth Corps.), and rock band days together, our relationship eventually led to something more.

So when Junior year came, my anxieties more or less disappeared because, at that time, I had hope to hold on to. The thought of having the possibility to be actually asked out to prom was just an incredible feeling. For once, someone might actually want me to be his date, to be the person he wants to dance with, to be the person he wants to spend the whole night with. I buzzed with excitement at the thought. I might actually get a date this year!

So, the moment I found a sonnet lying on my bed, I froze. I read and reread the lines, not because I couldn’t understand it, but because I couldn’t digest it. In my mind, I was like “Oh my god. It’s happening.” I don’t know how long I stood there trying to comprehend the words, but I did a mental shake, pulled myself together, and forced myself to read the whole poem. It was really hard to concentrate, I was just dumbfounded the entire time.

At the end of the poem, it said “P.S. – Look outside your balcony.” I was just about to make my move when two of my friends, Mia and Shanelle, barged in and started distracting me. Somehow during the process, I ended up locked in my own bathroom where I had no choice but to wait. It was pretty hilarious. I remember stressing out how bored I was by playing ping pong against my wall. (It’s perfectly normal to have that in your bathroom)

After a rather long wait, I heard three loud knocks on my door and sounds of feet shuffling. Immediately, I opened the door and found the room empty. The windows were wide open, and I thought to myself “This is it”. But before taking a look outside, I opened the door out to my room to see if Mia and Shanelle were still there.

They were no where to be seen, but I couldn’t be sure because at that moment, Jared walked in my room with a guitar in his hands. He started playing the song Lucky by Colbie Calliat and Jason Mraz, and it goes something like this…

I’m lucky I’m in love with my best friend
Lucky to have been where I have been
Lucky to be coming home again
I’m lucky we’re in love every way
Lucky to have stayed where we have stayed
Lucky to be coming home someday

My eyes were probably as big as saucers because I didn’t expect him to go through that door. I backed up, looked outside the window, and found christmas lights shining in the dark.

It spelled out, ‘Prom’.

Ahhh. I just couldn’t believe what was happening to me at that moment. I felt so lucky, so special, and so loved. I was absofreakinglutely stunned and, not to mention, red in the cheeks. If a person could melt, I would have melted right there.

So, when Jared asked, “Will you go to prom with me?” I said, yes.

I got beyond what I wanted, and I can never be grateful enough to my friends who helped out, and to Jared for everything else. I never imagined I would be asked to prom that way, it totally exceeded my expectations.

Cheers to you, Jared, for making every moment grander than the last.

Here’s a picture of me and Jared in prom.

It was a night I will never forget.

– P

2 thoughts on “Will You Go To Prom With Me?

A penny for your thoughts?

