Insurgent

Exhilaration.

That is what I felt after I finished reading Insurgent, the second installment of Divergent by Veronica Roth. It has been a while since I last finished a book, and I must say I missed all the knife-throwing action. I missed the hair-pulling, life-saving heroines who would do whatever it takes to get what they want.

What revived me from this wretched thirst was Insurgent. I couldn’t put that darn book down. Every chapter held something in it that just made me want to read more and more. I practically swallowed the book whole. The book threw me into an emotional roller coaster, which I frighteningly enjoyed.

Taken from goodreads.com

In this story, I found myself understanding Beatrice Prior’s behavior. Her erratic actions and her feelings of fragility mirrored teenage problems everyone encounters. At one point in our lives we feel misunderstood, we feel like the world is against us, and we want to make others understand when we, frustratingly, can’t. And in this book, I felt that. I felt her frustrations and I felt her sadness.

Tris was brave and selfless all throughout the book that it sometimes tittered over stupidity (Tobias was right). The characters slowly began to show their true colors, which sometimes led me to believe that no one could be trusted.

I applaud Veronica Roth for making another page-turner that kept me up until 3 in the morning. As for the next book, it holds more promises of truth, intelligence, bravery, selflessness, and peace. I cannot wait to get my hands on it!

Oh and I convinced myself to take up self-defense classes in the future. You’ll never know when you’ll need it.

– P

2 thoughts on “Insurgent

  1. Patsyy!! I super love this book!!waah Tris and Tobias!!!waaah!can’t wait for the next book!! The ending of insurgent was so bitin!!!haha Miss you Patsy!!!

    1. Omg, you read the book too?! Haha! It’s amazing! But yeah.. it was bitin. I CAN’T wait for the next one. It’s driving me insane. Lol. (fan girl mode here) I miss you too, Isabella!! 😀 I hope they make a movie, so we could watch it together XD I was going to suggest going to self defense classes together but I just remembered that you’re a black belter already. Hahaha! Thanks for commenting, girl! 🙂

A penny for your thoughts?

