Walang Sugat: A Must See

Two days ago my dad, sister, and I went to the Cultural Center of the Philippines to watch a play called, Walang Sugat (No Wound), starring Cris Villonco as Julia and Noel Rayos as Tenyong. The play was written by Severino Reyes (aka. Lola Basyang), and was directed by Carlos Siguion-Reyna.

The play was much better than Cirque Du Soleil’s Saltimbanco, I’m telling you. For Php 800.00, you will definitely get your money’s worth (unlike Saltimbanco, which costs around thousands and thousands of pesos). Walang Sugat was staged in a small auditorium, but the impression it leaves you with is as strong as Broadway’s finest musicals. If you are a Filipino, or someone who understands Filipino, I strongly recommend watching, Walang Sugat. It is one of the best love stories I’ve ever seen, and it will not disappoint.

The crowd was captivated all throughout–with the funny remarks, and the nationalistic pride, Walang Sugat produced a show that brought the audience to tears and laughter.

I honestly think Walang Sugat is worth much more than Php 800.00. The actors and the actresses were all very talented, and I don’t think anyone should miss out on such an amazing show.

After the play, the cast went out to the lobby where they had pictures taken with the audience. I was able to talk to my aunt and my uncle who contributed a big deal to this production, and I felt pretty bad I couldn’t express how much I enjoyed the show. I was at a loss for words. The only word I could come up with was ‘good,’ but good doesn’t even cut it (understatement of the year).

Here’s me and my sister, Lisa, with my aunt, Bibeth Orteza, and my uncle, Carlos Siguion-Reyna.

Here’s my sister and I with one of our favorite characters of the show, Red Nuestro (played the role of Lucas).

And another picture with the star of the show, Cris Villonco (played the role of Julia). Her voice was just beautiful.

I really hope that you guys watch the show! The last day of its showing will be on the 26th of August. I’m really happy I got to see it, especially now that I’m leaving for Pennsylvania in a few hours.

See you there!

– P

4 thoughts on “Walang Sugat: A Must See

  1. Thank you so much for coming! I’m so glad you and your family got to see the show! Have a grand time at Penn State! So many exciting things ahead!!!

    Much love,
    Cris

    1. Thank you very much! And it was our pleasure to see you perform. You and the whole cast were just awesome! (I was a little starstruck when we were taking that photo) Haha! I wish you all the best! πŸ™‚

    1. No, thank YOU for putting on a great show! πŸ˜€ And thank you very much for finding the time to comment, I really appreciate it! Good luck to you and your other performances! I wish I’ll be able to see more of you in future musicals/plays! πŸ˜€ You have an amazing talent!

A penny for your thoughts?

