Bali: Day 1

First and foremost, I just want to say Merry Christmas to all of you! I’m sorry I haven’t been able to post anything in the past few weeks because I was very busy juggling finals exams, buying presents, flying in planes, and reuniting with my friends and family. I’m currently in Bali, Indonesia, where my family plans to spend the new year. It’s my family’s first time in Bali, so this ought to be very interesting.

The weather in Bali is very similar to the Philippines–it is very humid, hot, and sometimes rainy. It is a big change if you compared it to State College, where there is a 12 hour difference and currently at below freezing point. It feels great to get to wear a swimsuit instead of gloves and layers of clothing–something I’m slowly getting used to.

We arrived in Bali last last night and checked in the InterContinental Hotel, where we were welcomed with drinks and bell gongs. The hotel is way beyond amazing, but the real adventure started today when we left the comforts of the beautiful hotel. We visited the Ubud Jewelry Shop, we ate authentic Indonesian food (their nasi goreng is the best), we wore sarongs when we went around the Batuan Temple, we learned how Luwak Coffee was processed (droppings of an animal), we went to the marketplace to grab souvenirs, we watched teenagers perform a Balinese dance, and we ended our first day with dinner by the sea.

Here are some pictures!

Breakfast in the InterContinental Hotel
By the hotel’s beachfront
Trying to copy the Balinese dancers
My family members in sarongs
Bela, Lisa, Trina, and Me
…because my family’s cool like that.
Coffee Tasting
I had my picture taken with our coffee guide in the coffee shop.
With the Balinese dancers
Dinner by the sea

I can’t believe we did all this in one day! Hopefully, we’ll get the chance to go to the monkey rainforest and ride on an elephant’s back soon. Stay tuned for more!

– P

A penny for your thoughts?

