Hot and Sunny to Cold and Snowy

It has been 20 days since I last posted, and so I want to start of by saying Happy New Year!

Happy New Year!

Like most people, I began my year with a new year’s resolution list, but instead of making it yearly, I made it monthly. Here is my resolution list for the month of January:

  • Review class notes by the end of the day
  • Sleep for at least 8 hours
  • Read the Bible/ Christian Books
  • Complete a nagging task
  • Eat vegetables and fruits

I made it a point to turn it into a checklist, so I can see whether or not I accomplish my goals every day. (Something I grabbed from the Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin) Seeing the empty boxes of my checklist motivates me to get things done because not only does it give me the feeling of accomplishment, it also makes me tremendously happy. They are small, doable tasks that make big differences in the long run.

~~~

Now, to end my story about Bali…

After we celebrated the New Year, we flew back to Manila where I was able to spend the remaining days with my friends and family. I held my very first sleepover with my high school friends. We played ping pong, we swam, we played Taboo, we ate, and we watched Bridesmaids. It was great to finally see their faces after such a long time. I wish I could have stayed much longer, but time passed so fast and before I knew it, I had to leave for State College, Pennsylvania after my too-short-two-week break. I was welcomed back with snow covering every inch of the ground. It was a breathtaking sight! I got back in my dorm around midnight on the 7th of January, the start of the spring semester.

Bali, Indonesia
State College, PA

For the past two weeks, I’ve been trying to get my schedule in order. I’m taking a total of six classes, namely: Psychology, Sociology, Hospital Policy and Administration, Geography, Art History, and Energy and Geo-Environmental Engineering. I am still currently undecided with my major, so I’m trying out all these different social science courses because they seem to be the ones that interest me most. There are a lot of readings, but I enjoy learning about society and the mindsets of different individuals.

Other than the excitement of a brand new semester, I was finally able to enjoy the snow. I made my first snowman, I had my first snowball fight, and I made my first snow angel.

Sorry about its blurriness

The snow is slowly melting, and I’m starting to see patches of grass around campus, but I heard it was supposed to snow tomorrow so maybe the days of winter wonderland aren’t over yet. There may be another time to get a better picture of a better snowman.

~~~

Now I just want to take this opportunity to say thank you for keeping up with me for the past few months. I really appreciate it! I hope that you stick by me in the next few weeks because exciting things are going to happen. I can feel it!

Thank you!

Again, Happy New Year!

– P

A penny for your thoughts?

