Painting a Self-Portrait

It has been a while since I last painted.

A couple of days ago, I was struck by the sudden desire to paint something. I was probably inspired by the paintings I saw the previous weekend in Penn State’s Museum of Art, or maybe it was from reading Rookie Yearbook 1, which was filled with loads of wonderful essays and pictures about teenagers, pop culture, feminism, fashion, etc… I highly recommend the book and the site. The person behind all that is Tavi Gevinson–a 16 year old girl in high school who started blogging about fashion ever since she was 11. From its colorful pages and brilliant artistic pursuits, I had this crazy creative desire to make, draw, color, or paint something… so I did.

This book is great! A must-have for young adults.

I chose to make a self-portrait because it has been ages ago when I attempted to draw my face. I think I was in grade 5 at that time and we all had to do it for Art Class. We had to make boxed grids and copy our pictures of ourselves box per box. This time, I didn’t use any sort of grid, I just drew.

Here are pictures of my work in progress.

I don’t know why, but I like experimenting with colors. The blue hair reminded me of Katy Perry a bit too.

After tweaking it here and there… I now present to you the final painting!

I hope you liked it (me and my big forehead)! Hopefully I’ll find more time in the future to explore the realms of paint.

– P

2 thoughts on “Painting a Self-Portrait

A penny for your thoughts?

