Painting Jesus

This is my very first attempt to paint Jesus Christ with the use of acrylic paint. It took me 4 hours to complete the painting, and as I was working, I was listening to my Hillsongs Radio on Pandora the entire time. This painting proved to be more challenging than my previous ones because of the play of shadow and light. I never attempted mixing colors for shadows because it is obviously very difficult… but there is a first for everything.

Here are pictures of my work in progress.

I am new to mixing colors for shadows and the fact that I used acrylic as my medium seemed to make it harder. Acrylics tend to dry pretty fast, so I ended up repainting a couple of times before I got the lighting right.

Anyway, enough of that, here’s the final painting! Volià!

Later on, I got the painting framed and placed on a wall.

For my first attempt at painting Jesus with shadows, I’d say I did a pretty good job. I hope you liked it!

– P

A penny for your thoughts?

