Food for the Creative Mind

Hello! Are you falling back into your old routine of waking up, eating, going to work, and sleeping? Well, if you are, then I might just have something that could tickle your fancy.

Behold!

The Pocket Scavenger by Keri Smith is a book/scrapbook/journal that keeps track of the various things you could find in any adventure — whether it’s a penny, string, button, or paperclip, this book encourages you to have fun and to get your creative juices flowing. Here’s an overview from Barnes and Noble:

Within the pages of The Pocket Scavenger, you’ll be instructed to go on an unusual scavenger hunt, collecting a spectrum of random items: something that is miniature, a stain that is green, something from the year you were born, a used envelope, and more. Once your quarry is in hand, you’ll apply an alteration dictated solely by chance: create a funny character, make it into a building, conceal it, add polkadots, remove a section, add stripes, scribble on top, fold, turn into an article of clothing, make it “pretty,” and so on.

The results: you’ll be forced out of habitual ways of thinking or acting, discover new connections, and try things you might not have done on your own, creating a version of The Pocket Scavenger that is unique, dependent on time, place, experience, and you.

Now, this book isn’t only for creative folks out there, it’s for anyone and everyone who wants to play with their right brain! In a week or so, my friends and I will start carrying this book around, and I thought it would be great to invite you, random stranger, to come and join us!

It will be fun! I promise.

– P

6 thoughts on “Food for the Creative Mind

  1. Wow, never heard of this before, it does look fun! As a wanderer and adventure seeker, this looks like something I would totally enjoy. Might have to get myself one 🙂

    1. This is perfect then! 😀 It makes the simplest of things very special. I’ve been working on it for a week now and it’s super fun. It made me a little more adventurous than usual. 😉

  2. I started a memory box last year, I try to save mementos of the major events in my life— I am a sock for memories— but having something for everyday adventures would be fun too, may just look into buying this book. Hopefully you will post some of your scavenger finds! “One person’s trash it another person’s treasure.”

    1. I have a memory box too! 😀 I really love collecting snippets from the most ordinary days to the most special ones. And I will most likely post some of the pages I’ve done in the book soon. I’m really enjoying the book so far! I highly recommend it!

      1. Aw, thank you so much Steph! I’m glad you think so! I’ll let you know as soon as it’s out. And I’ll keep an eye out on your blog for the memory box. 😀

A penny for your thoughts?

