Relief Printmaking Class

For funsies, my roommate and I decided to sign up for another art class. Last semester, Carly and I took a bookbinding class and had loads of fun, so for this semester, we thought of taking Relief Printmaking.

In our first meeting, we made an accordion book. We cut up potatoes into our chosen shape, painted them with acrylic paint, stamped them all over a big sheet of paper, zigzag-cut the paper, and glued the ends to a hard cover.

Here are some pictures.

In our second meeting, we made stamps by carving on linoleum. For my design, I carved out a flower… and I may have stabbed my hand twice in the process.

Here are some pictures.

I can’t wait for our next session! Hopefully, I’ll know better than to put my hand in front of that carving tool.

– P

2 thoughts on “Relief Printmaking Class

A penny for your thoughts?

