The Duck and The Owl Zine

Working on the Duck and the Owl

The Duck and The Owl approached me a couple of weeks ago and asked if I wanted to make a cover design for their very first web magazine. In case any of you don’t know, The Duck and The Owl is a blog run by two amazing women  who talk a lot about books (they love Harry freaking Potter), pop culture, and life. They have grown to become this amazing blog — with their random acts of happiness, forest friends book club, sunday sweets and smiles, and now *drum rolls* web zines.

This is their very first zine! And this is the first time anyone ever asked me to contribute to a big project, so I was super psyched! In case any of you are interested in contributing to their zine, click here.

They are accepting:

  • Poetry
  • Fiction/Short Stories
  • Creative Non-Fiction
  • Photography
  • 2D art
  • Illustrations
  • Graphics
  • Cartoons
  • Sculptures
  • Music/Song lyrics
  • Movies
  • ETC!

Keep in mind that the deadline for submissions is on December 1. It would be super cool if you guys become a part of it.

~~~

Working on the Design

So, I was in my roommate’s grandparents’ lake house when I drew a draft of the design (I was actually watching Harry Potter while I was working, no joke). This is what I came up with:

It was a very great environment to be in (perfect time too, the leaves were just gorgeous outside). I was able to kayak for the very first time.

If that doesn’t stir your creative juices, I don’t know what will. Eventually, I transferred the drawings on the computer and worked on it with Pixelmator. I did a lot of trial and error when it came to the top and bottom part of the cover.

First Trial:

Second Trial:

…but they were both kind of ‘meh,’ so I tried replicating some of my designs all over the page. Eventually, after adding pictures, changing colors, adding colors, and having loads of fun, this is what came out of it:

I hope you guys would contribute or at least check out the awesomeness in The Duck and The Owl.

– P

4 thoughts on “The Duck and The Owl Zine

  1. This is so cool! I think they chose the perfect artist to do their first cover =) Btw, I love your blog and found it through The Duck and the Owl’s blogroll =)

    Christina

A penny for your thoughts?

