Ceramics Class

One of my favorite things to do in college is to take non-credit art classes. During my fall semester, I signed up for a 6-session ceramics class, which was taught by Vicky (a senior majoring in art). I took up this class on monday nights with my good friend, Maggie.

It is one of the most stressful things I’ve done for the sake of art. Wheel thrown pottery is hard, man. You would think it would be easy because of how people would do it on TV. It looks relaxing and fun, but in reality, it will only be that way once you are a pro. Who knew that it would require some upper body strength?

My greatest challenge was in centering the clay, and unfortunately it is one of the most important steps in ceramics. When you center your clay, you want the clay to be symmetrical in the middle of your wheel. If you don’t get it to center, your work will be off balanced and you will have a greater risk of ruining your work…and believe me, I have failed so many times.

After a good number of trials and errors, I came out of the class with these three.

Don’t let this discourage you. I know I didn’t. After 6 sessions, I made bowls and mugs that were far from perfect, but I continued on. I signed up for studio membership during my spring semester, so whenever I had some free time, I would always head over to the Ceramics Studio and try again. I was so determined to be good at it. By the end of the spring semester, I was loads better than I was from the very beginning. Obviously, there is still a lot of room for improvement, but at least I’m going somewhere.

Unfired clay mug for my friend, John
Last three things I made during my spring semester

I can’t wait to sign up for another art class!

– P

A penny for your thoughts?

